Andrew and Alix

alix and andrew

29th August 2015

Dear Nick, Lauren and the Golden Ox crew,

We wanted to thank you for all the time and effort you put into helping us to make our day special. From the first time we met, you went above and beyond to make us feel important and valued – something that was missing at other venues we had spoken to. You really took the time to find out what we wanted and needed and nothing was too much trouble for you to organise for us. We had a number of strange diets, and people that needed access to quiet rooms for religious reasons and breast feeding – and you managed to cater for everything that we needed. The staff that served on the day were amazingly attentive, the food was excellent, the room was gorgeous and everyone had a great time.

In particular we would like to thank Lauren and Nick for all their hard work leading up to the event and on the day – you guys were absolutely fantastic. We are recommending the Golden Ox to everyone we know!

Cheers

Leanne and Daniel Rose

Leanne and Daniel

19th December 2015

My husband and I got married last night having both our ceremony (In the gardens) and reception (regency room) at the golden ox. We could not have asked for a more perfect day, the food was delicious, the room and gardens were stunning and for the staff nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend the golden ox time and time again! A big thank you to all the staff that made our night so special.

Paul and Tanya Morse

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 May 2015

Paul and I want to thank the team there for hosting our wedding on the 8th May 2015. It was a wonderful day the staff were fantastic and made our day ran very smoothly.” so I wasn’t a stressed bride at all”. I highly recommend your restaurant to anyone thinking of having a wedding or just a function.

Thanks again

Mr and Mrs Morse.

Amy & Matthew Robertson

IMG_9042

5th December 2015

We are so pleased we chose to have our wedding with your team at The Golden Ox. Your family run business’ attention to detail and customer service was top notch and very much appreciated. The gardens were immaculate for our ceremony and the reception room was arranged exactly as discussed. Our guests raved about how plentiful and delicious their dinners were. Thank you Nick and Lauren for making our day incredibly easy. We will be back to visit for dinner soon!

Kind regards,

Yvonne & Mark Jobson

Yvonne

2nd May 2015

Everything and more you could ever ask for. Beautiful surrounding, delicious food and sensational service

Wow it’s been a month since our wedding and what amazing memories we already have. A very big thank you to everyone at Golden ox for making our day even more of a dream wedding than we could of imagined. The Garden was such a beautiful place for our ceremony and photos. The food was second to none but it was the service that made everything so special we along with all our guests were made to feel like our needs were the only thing that mattered. Thank you all at the Golden Ox again. We look forward to catching up for all our special occasions and romantic dinners in our future

David and Sang Parsons

 

 

 

 

 

 

18th April 2015

After doing our research for our big day Sang and I had a great feeling about the Golden Ox and the personal interest shown by owners Nick and Virginia and our hostess/coordinator Lauren.
We enjoyed the process of organising our reception and we felt in control but assured that everything would be taken care of.

On our special day the room looked fantastic and our guests filled it perfectly.

All the good things I have heard about the food at the Golden Ox proved correct and the service was second to none as reflected by everyone present.

The evening flowed beautifully. Sang and I and our guests felt relaxed and catered for all night.

Lauren was fantastic with her organisational skills and Nick and Virginia look genuinely happy for us and were always there helping and encouraging.

It really was a special day for us and we can’t thank the Golden Ox enough. I would have no hesitation in recommending them for a great reception or just enjoying their beautiful food.
Thanks Again

Dave and Sang Parsons – Redcliffe

Daniel and Erryn O’Brien

2K9A5205-min

 

 

 

 

14th March 2015

Dear Nick, Virginia and Lauren,

We just wanted to express our heartfelt thanks for all of the support and hard work you put in to making our wedding day the wonderful and precious day that it was. We couldn’t be happier with how the day went and how smoothly everything ran. We wish that we could do it all over again, it was so much fun!

Nick the support that you gave us and your attention to detail is to be greatly admired. We think you do a wonderful job in the planning, preparation and execution of your weddings and we congratulate you on all the success that you enjoy. On a personal note we think you are a really lovely man and wish you all the best.

Virginia and Lauren thank you for all of your support also, especially in the lead up to our big day. We really appreciated your communication and insurance that everything would go to plan. And it did!

We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all the best.

Daniel & Erryn O’Brien

Melissa & Travis Youngman

wedding2

 

 

 

 

 

16th March 2013, Ceremony and Reception

Letter from the Bride

Thank you for all your organisation and support with our wedding. The day was amazing. I was relaxed and enjoyed myself – this the staff at the Golden Ox made it easy and the day run smoothly.

I did not think my wedding would be so straight forward to plan and that was because you helped me every step of the way. I really appreciated the time you took to email me back and answer all my small, detailed questions just so I could understand what was going on. You did an amazing job – I am so glad we had our wedding at the Golden Ox with you as our planner.

The food was fantastic – everyone commented on the amazing food, no-one went hungry. Can you please pass our thanks on to Nick and the kitchen staff?

The room was set up beautifully. It was stress-free for me as I knew you, Virginia and the staff would have it the way we discussed. I hope the day went well for you behind the scenes. As I said to you Saturday night, I felt it went well – everything fell into place.

Please thank Nick and Virginia for us. I really liked the way they were present throughout the night and congrautated us – we felt a part of the Golden Ox Family. I will be strongly recommending The Golden Ox as a wedding venue or for a function. Thank you again and hope to see you at the Ox soon.

Thanks,

Melissa

Melissa & Travis Youngman

Mel__Trav_4

 

 

 

 

 

16th March 2013
Ceremony and Reception

Letter from Father of the Bride

Hi Virginia and Nick and the support staff,

THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH.

The Youngman Wilson wedding was held at the Ox this past Saturday, 16th March 2013.

I am contacting you to praise the service we received from the planning stages to the ceremony. The service went off without a hitch, and the skies gave the wedding party a fine day for the garden ceremony. But in particular, I would like to take the opportunity to praise and thank the waiting and support staff for the wonderful wedding buffet.

All of the guests gave a big thumbs up to the food. I was particularly impressed that the service to the tables was excellent and the quality of the food was exceptional. Considering that another wedding buffet was in progress indicates that the Ox knows how to run catering functions.

I also wish to thank “Kristy” for her planning with this wedding. Her services prior to and on the day made the event stress free for the bridal party, therefore making the day more wonderful. It is with this in mind that I can highly recommend the Ox to anyone who wishes to use your services.

Kind regards,

Father of the bride,

Peter Wilson

Anna & Lance Byrne

Byrne_wedding

 

 

 

 

 

12th April 2013
Ceremony and Reception

I just wanted to send you a quick email to say thanks again for all your help at our wedding day!

Yourself and The Golden Ox were a delight to deal with, my day couldn’t have gone any more perfect! The gardens where our ceremony was held were so beautiful and thank goodness the sun came out just in time for photos! The guests told me the food was AMAZING (unfortunately I was in too much of a high to eat anything!) and the service was excellent!

Please pass on my thanks to Nick as well, he was very lovely and ensured that we had the best day too!

Thanks again!!
Anna & Lance Byrne 🙂

street_photo

Steven and Melissa
17th November 2012
Wedding Reception

Steven and I have been meaning to come into the restaurant and thank you all personally for helping us organise the reception for our wedding on the 17th November 2012 but unfortunately life has got in the way!

Before I forget once again, I wanted to write you and everyone at The Golden Ox a quick message to say thank you for making our wedding a breeze to plan and for helping us organise all those little details for our wedding reception. The room looked amazing, the food was delicious and we still have family and friends commenting on how lovely the atmosphere was on the night and that no one was left hungry!

Despite all our last minute changes to the guest list and seating arrangements, everything ran smoothly and we were confident knowing that everything had been taken care of for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our wedding reception and we highly recommend The Golden Ox to anyone planning their wedding.

Thank you again and we will be in to visit soon.

Kind Regards,
Melissa & Steven McKeering

 

1521Craig & Luanne Tucker
November 19, 2011.
Ceremony and Reception

Sheralyn Tucker, whose son Craig Tucker was married at The Golden Ox on November 19, 2011 discusses her experience at The Golden Ox. She comments on the organisation of the wedding, the food and the presentation. “It was absolutely wonderful. It really was. The food was just absolutely spectacular. Everyone told us how much they enjoyed the food. “The service was wonderful too. The service was personalised; the attention-to-detail was there every step of the way. “The garden was done up in a lovely way and looked beautiful. We had no criticisms of anything at all. Everything was just great. “You’re on tender hooks the whole time organising a wedding. But we had nothing to worry about. “Anyone who is thinking about having their wedding function at The Golden Ox is certainly making the right decision,” Mrs Tucker said.

Luanne Tucker was married in the private, landscaped gardens at The Golden Ox on November 19, 2011. She and her husband Craig held their reception for 75 guests in the Renoir Room at The Golden Ox. Luanne spoke about her wedding experiences at The Golden Ox. “Everything went really well. The garden was set up beautifully, everyone raved about the food and everything was perfect. “I’d give The Golden Ox a big tick. My wedding was perfect. I’d recommend it,” Mrs Tucker said.

 

Victoria_MyattWedding of Jon & Victoria Myatt – 1st October 2011

The Golden Ox was the perfect choice for us, great location, great value for money and very friendly, helpful staff. Sarah was our wedding coordinator and she did an amazing job to bring everything together and nothing was too much trouble. The highlight of our wedding was definitely the food“ everybody raved about how delicious it was and the serves were very generous.. no one went home hungry! We had the most wonderful and fun wedding day. Thank you to all the team at The Golden Ox for a fantastic, memorable day.

Victoria Myatt

 

Steak Night –  5 Stars

Out of all the places that I’ve dined at in the Redcliffe area, The Golden Ox is definitely one place to go to and feast up.

It was a Thursday night and we had driven out to Margate to see some old friends of ours and catch up over dinner. Upon their suggestion, we all met up at The Golden Ox for the much raved about steak night. When we arrived, because none of us made a booking, we were forced into the bar to wait for a table. We ordered a round of cocktails that were reasonably priced and when tasted exceeded our expectations. After twenty minutes we were able to take our table amongst a bustling and lively room of patron. In the background a pianist performed classic covers for our enjoyment.

Be it Steak Night, we all ordered the special that included a main and desert. When the mains arrived out and we began to eat. We all agreed that even without the desert, the steak, potato mash and greens were worth way more than what paid for. When the desert came out we ate till we couldn’t eat anymore.

The Golden Ox is definitely a place where the worship of steak should be condoned.

Benjamin W

Fresh & Tasty

My fiancee and i went for a meal at the golden ox in Redcliffe over the weekend and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality and freshness of our meals. My fiancee isn’t a huge seafood lover but i am, so he ordered the veal Danube to start and then the kilcoy steak with all the trimmings and i had the crumbed calamari and the chicken and prawn ravioli. you know those times when you order and you wish you had ordered what the other person has?? I didn’t have that moment; everything i ordered looked fresh and beautiful and tasted just as good. We will absolutely be going back!

Jess C

20/08/2012

The Golden Ox were Amazing

My husband and I had our wedding at the Golden Ox – they were AMAZING. They had everything under control on the day and made the experience a lot less stressful than it could have been. The food was so overwhelmingly good, that we returned many times throughout the next year and again for our celebratory 1st anniversary dinner. The overall ambience that is created, compliments the fine dining and friendly yet romantic aura that emits. An experience that makes you leave with a smile and already planning your next visit.

Nicole Moulds

12/07/2012

A Perfect Evening

A perfect evening Fine Dining at The Golden Ox. By far the best service by staff that I have ever come across, they are so polite and friendly. I had the Duck and Steph had the Lamb, if you are after fine dining, these meals certainly stack up. The cocktails were all delicious and the Crème Brule dessert was perfect. Highly recommend.

Matthew Fox

3/3 14/07/2012

Family dinner at a Family restaurant

At the Golden Ox Restaurant in Redcliffe they really do understand the meaning of family. We decided to celebrate nan’s 60th here and throughout the evening I got talking to the owners, Nick and Virginia.

The business has been family owned and operated since 1977, with their son in the kitchen for 10 years now. He is an absolute credit to them, with only the most superb dishes arriving at our table. We all had a corker of a time, and any little orders or requests arrived within minutes.

Nan’s favourite part of the Golden Ox is their dessert menu. They are one of the only places to do desserts like the Brandy Snap Cornets and Bombe Alaska, and still doing it incredibly well. She asked in advance for no birthday cake, just so she could order dessert from the OX instead!!

Piano while we sang happy birthday topped it all off. Great place, couldn’t recommend it highly enough!

S.Ennius- 24th Feb 2012

Perfect wedding venue

My husband and I got married at the Golden Ox in Margate last week. Our needs were really catered to. We were after a simple, stylish wedding and that is what we got. We had the ceremony in the wedding gardens and they were beautiful, the decorations looked fabulous and the food was delightful. I would certainly recommend the Golden Ox to others.

Lisa -17th September 2010

Highly Recommended

I don’t usually write reviews but I went to The Golden Ox Restaurant in Redcliffe, for the first time, with friends a couple of months ago and I was so impressed I’ve become a regualar. The food is fantastic, it is always presented perfectly and tastes amazing. The staff are great, always happy and keen to take care of you. This restaurant is a MUST TRY!

Emma K- 3rd September 2010

 

5 stars

I  had my wedding there in the gardens nearly 4 years ago and you could not fault the place the staff could not do enough for you A+

Christina Turner- May 2011  

5 stars – I LOVED this place.

The food [lamb] was unreal, so tender, SOOOOO tender. My wife had the Snapper and although she has had some bad fish in the past, she loved it. In fact we didnt swap meals, which we always do, we just enjoyed it that much. The kids meals were huge [which was great for me!] and dessert was, well, amazing. In fact we ordered four desserts between three people. Greedy, I know. But the Crme Brule and the Sorbet and the flourless chocolate cake AND the Custard something-or-rather were so good I cried. I mean it was all sooo good. When you go out infrequently, like we do, it’s nice when the food is to die for. Well done to whoever runs this place, no complaints from us… It wasnt our wedding day, but I reckon after 16 years of marriage like us, the wedding day seems pretty unimportant anyway!! Cheers guys..

OT99-March 2011  

5 stars

We recieved outstanding personal service throughout the preparations and on the night. We made a few last minute requests and all turned out great. We didnt deal with the golden ox through email, but we had no trouble getting in contact with them by phone. And they were always more than happy to help. Thank you to the Golden Ox Restaurant in Margate we will be back!

Theresa- March 2011  

5 stars

Had a meal out with my hubby who is a chef- and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was fabulous and so was the service. Great night Liked: Food, Service, Atmosphere, Value

Kristina – 8 Dec 2011    

5 stars

eat here on a regular basis, and The Golden Ox never dissappoints. While seafood dishes are a standout for me (the Barra is mouthwatering), tasty vegetarian risottos or a quality steak are also great options. Great atmosphere!

eva2210  – 21 Feb 2012

5 stars

Great service had my sisiters birthday at the ox on saturday. they made us feel special especially my sister. The pianist played happy birthday for her and they bought out a sparkler and drink while we sung her happy birthday. food was great. would recommend it to anyone looking for to celebrate a special night.

(no name) October 2010

To see more of our reviews- click (links to google site)

Another one- http://www.menulog.com.au/the_ox_restaurant#diningReviews-1